Amscope T490 Questions

Everything relating to microscopy hardware: Objectives, eyepieces, lamps and more.
natedoggraymond

Amscope T490 Questions

#1 Post by natedoggraymond » Tue Feb 09, 2021 8:40 am

Hey all! This is my first post on the forum, so excuse me if I have done something bothersome by starting a new topic or posting in the wrong section. Any advice would be welcome!

I have been shopping for my first microscope for some time now and have narrowed it down to a few scopes. My goals with microscopy are discovery, personal research, and microphotography/videography. I seek to look at, identify, and learn more about microbes of all kinds. I intend to begin with the somewhat larger pondwater protists. I am a young college student and a passionate biology major. I could see my career or some of my research coming out of my experience with microscopy. It is certainly something I love. I have been greatly inspired by the work of James Weiss and Hank Green with Journey to the Microcosmos and dream of creating and/or experiencing content like theirs.

Basically, I'm looking for a microscope that is EXPANDABLE. I think darkfield, phase contrast, polarized light microscopy, Kohler illumination, microphotography, and all of the fun bells and whistles of this hobby are very appealing. Thus, I would like my first microscope to be one that, while not breaking the bank, can take me decently far with later upgrades and add-ons.