LOMO biolam C1

Everything relating to microscopy hardware: Objectives, eyepieces, lamps and more.
smollerthings

LOMO biolam C1

#1 Post by smollerthings » Thu Aug 19, 2021 12:27 pm

Hi Everyone,

I am a newbie thinking of getting a vintage LOMO Biolam C1 microscope. It is quite complex and I have a couple of questions.

1. The objective lenses. Despite reading this article:
http://www.microscopy-uk.org.uk/mag/ind ... iolam.html

I can't figure out if the objectives are stardard DIN and if I can buy a normal DIN 20x objective on Aliexpress like the one below.
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/4000427 ... LMThw&mp=1
Also the aliexpress lens is specified to be 195 mm, what does this mean?

2. My microscope doesn't come with a mechanical stage, I found some that can be adapted like this one
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/1005002026637916.html
Would that work?

Thanks!
Chris

MicroBob

Re: LOMO biolam C1

#2 Post by MicroBob » Thu Aug 19, 2021 6:54 pm

Hi Chris,
the Biolams were designed with 160mm tube length, ca. 33m objective parfocal length and c
intermediate image ca. 13mm down the tube. This is close to old Zeiss Jena dimensions wich is what the Biolam was copied of and the simpliefied. So this is not DIN (160-45-10). Objectives with tube length 195 are not DIN conform. Here in Germany basic Biolams are plenty on the used market and all basic components are readily available so no one would bother with fitting chinese stuff.

The biolams are nice microscopes. The oldestround model is a straight copy of the Zeiss Jena LG, my one was made very well. The first angular model has a geared fine focus which is nicer to use but doesn't resist abuse, the later model with disc fine focus is especially easy to dismantle and re-grease and very robust.

Bob

Leitzcycler

#3 Post by Leitzcycler » Thu Aug 19, 2021 7:07 pm

I agree. Why not buy Lomo objectives for Lomo microscope? They are not so expensive in Ebay.