AO Cycloptic objective/aux lens advice

Everything relating to microscopy hardware: Objectives, eyepieces, lamps and more.
dtsh

AO Cycloptic objective/aux lens advice

#1 Post by dtsh » Thu Sep 16, 2021 2:51 pm

I've been using my Cycloptic for a bit over 2 years now and am still quite pleased with it. What I am after is a recommendation for which objective/aux lens I should add to give me a bit more depth of field. I know this will increase the working distance and provided it doesn't got too high that's fine as I could reasonably tolerate as much as 15-20cm (6-8") without much change or a bit more with some alterations to my work area, but preferably as little extra WD as I can get. My problem is that while I'm aware of the catalog numbers, I haven't found a reference to how much working distance each one would provide nor what depth of field I might expect.

These first two are different objectives and not aux lenses. For my purposes, all other things being equal, I think a different objective would be best, but that all depends on the specifics which I don't know.
266 1/2x that the catalog says "Special long working distance".
262 3/4x

267 2/3x aux lens

I believe that as the magnification goes down, the depth of field and working distance should increase. There's a 1/5x they list (K1877) as having a 20" working distance and a 1/3X (K1932) with a 12.5" WD - both would be too much I think.

My motivation for this is I have been scanning 100mm/4" petri dishes of small insects and I think a greater depth of field would help me scan and sort faster with less focusing and manipulation.
As always, thank you all in advance for your advice.

While I know a picture isn't necessary, they do tend to liven up a thread, so here's the Cycloptic. (imaging head, 2x swing out aux, 15x B&L UWF eyepieces).
The 2x swing out aux is nice and I use it periodically, but not much lately.
my_cycloptic.jpg
my_cycloptic.jpg (112.01 KiB) Viewed 1679 times

BramHuntingNematodes