DIC for reflected microscope

Everything relating to microscopy hardware: Objectives, eyepieces, lamps and more.
urbanpiper3

DIC for reflected microscope

#1 Post by urbanpiper3 » Mon Nov 15, 2021 6:22 pm

Hello,

I am new to interference contrast enhancement methods in microscopy, and in particular about DIC. I have the following setup in my lab and was interested to learn what exactly does Olympus mean by Shear amount. I could not find any online resources as to the specifications of the DIC optics that's used in the DIC slider, there are no numbers to put against "shear amount" parameter. This limits my understanding the relationship between optimal shear amount vs particular NA objective lens.
  • Scope: BXFM
  • DIC slider: U-DICR
  • Polarizer/Analyzer: U-POP3/U-AN360-3
  • Objectives: LMPLFLN10x 0.25NA, LMPLFLN20x 0.5NA
List of DIC sliders for reflected microscope from Olympus

Questions:
  • The images grabbed at low NA lens 10x 0.25NA DIC images seems to be very blurry and also shows ghost image artifacts, i.e., two images of the sample features. The fringe period (width) is also smaller with the FOV produced by this lens.
  • Images grabbed at 50x 0.5NA lens seems to be of superb quality with clarity
  • What needs to be changed in the microscope setup to get good images with 10x 0.1NA objective lens? Does this mean the U-DICR is not optimized to work with 10x lens as opposed to 50x lens?
  • Other microscope manufacturers - e.g., Mitutoyo provides DIC sliders based on the objectives, https://www.mitutoyo.com/webfoo/wp-cont ... E14020.pdf, i.e. a specific DIC slider for each objective. What specifically would be different in this sliders optics compared with the Olympus DIC optics
  • What would be the best way to model DIC - to understand trade offs b/w contrast and resolution at various shear magnitudes and how that is tied in w/ the objective lenses