Help with cleaning / restoring second hand Olympus BX40

Everything relating to microscopy hardware: Objectives, eyepieces, lamps and more.
Garz

Help with cleaning / restoring second hand Olympus BX40

#1 Post by Garz » Mon Aug 28, 2023 5:13 pm

Hello fellow microbe hunters!

I see there are a lot of knowledgeable people here when it comes to microscopes.

I am a near complete novice.
But I have been experimenting with an old Watson Microsystems microscope that i rescued from a garage sale about a year or so ago, with some halfway reasonable results, but I soon realised the limitations of this old, knocked about scope, especially since the optics were scratched and there was even mould inside several of the objectives when I got it.

As a result, I’ve been looking for a better microscope for some time, this was just a long process because I am on a tight budget.

I recently purchased this Olympus BX40 scope.
As you will see, it has also had a bit of a hard life. The previous owner knew v little about it, other than it was stored in a garage (apparently wrapped in plastic) for the last several years.
It has also had a couple of knocks in transit.

That said the glass components of the optics look to be in reasonable condition and I am not too concerned with cosmetics. So, i am hoping it can be salvaged in terms of restoring optical function.

As far as I can see the scope is complete, there are 3 objectives, one being 100x oil, the lamp is present and works, the stage works smoothly enough in all directions. The slide holder had taken a knock in transit but I think it can be tweaked back into shape well enough to work.

I would be very grateful for any help you could give me in terms of how to go about cleaning and restoring the scope to optimal function - Or at least as close to that as is able to be achieved on a DIY basis.
the stage upper surface is pitted with corrosion - so i think i am going to have to repair that