Manual vs. autofocus cam

Here you can discuss everything related to taking light micrographs and videos.
medicus

Manual vs. autofocus cam

#1 Post by medicus » Sun Oct 24, 2021 5:05 pm

Greetings all:

This is my first post. I have a basic question that I need your help with, and I’ve already viewed all the threads before asking. My question is, I am selecting a trinoc camera of the HDMI/USB webcam type (e.g, Hayearr,lapsun, Eakins) most often used for PCB inspection. In your experience, should I select an auto focus model or one with manual focus? Am I going to be disabling the autofocus frequently? It seems like it’s a major factor in pricing differences. I’m a med student using an Amscope 610 plan infinity for pond water, general bio, with a focus on video. My budget’s ~500 US.
For example, Theres a 4K 60 FPS from Risingcam that has everything I’m looking for except it’s manual focus. But if autofocus is pretty important I’ll go w/the Lapsun 1080p 60fps.
Advise, feedback, suggestions?
Thanks!

patta

Re: Manual vs. autofocus cam

#2 Post by patta » Sun Oct 24, 2021 10:31 pm

I'd vote for NO autofocus.
compound microscopes are designed to have camera fixed, focus only by varying the distance objective-specimen.
Autofocus will be detrimental for low-mag objectives and ineffective for high-mag.

If you really desperately want autofocus, the way to go is to put an electric motor on the microscope focus knob!

Instead, the autofocus cameras (sensor moves up and down), I think are used for low-magnification digital microscopes and/or automated machine vision - not your case.

You may also consider a used old DSLR intstead (Canon 500D?), a bit of hassle to mount and use, but price/performance for photos is by far the best. Video, they're likely slower.
See the nice article linked at this thread (for still photos)
https://www.microbehunter.com/microsc ... #p87502

Important extra: make sure to get the right camera adapter that fits in your tube.

Dubious