Leica/Wild: any special advantage in different tube+optic combinations?

Here you can discuss everything related to taking light micrographs and videos.
fufluns

Leica/Wild: any special advantage in different tube+optic combinations?

#1 Post by fufluns » Wed Nov 08, 2023 10:27 pm

For their M stereoscope series, Wild used an elbow tube (404891 or 18057), a 304490 tube with a Wild 10x/21 photo eyepiece, plus an eyepiece tube (404207) with a relay 0.32 lens (370759) mounted within a camera lens adapter (162226). The system was using two lenses, for a final enlargement at the film/sensor of 3.2x. It is my understanding that the Wild 404207 eyepiece tube plus 10x/21 photo eyepiece could be substituted by a Leitz Tube TL 160mm plus a Leitz Periplan 10x18 lens but I have no direct experience with this.

In his MZ series, Leica firstly used the same approach, with the same eyepiece tube (10404207) and relay lens (10445541 mounted in 10162226), but changed the photo tube (10445932) and the photo eyepiece (LEICA 10445304) to adapt them to the new 37 mm elbow tube (10446174 or 10446194). Final enlargement at the film/sensor was still 3.2x.

Using the same Leica/Wild elbow tube, Scientific Diagnostic choose another approach, using only one lens: a Olympus photo lens 2.5x, mounted on a short photo tube, plus a longer tube (PA1-35A) with no lenses to the camera. In this way they only used a single projection lens, instead of two lenses. Final enlargement at the film/sensor was 2.5x.

With their newer video/photo tubes, Leica still adopted a two-lenses system, but with a different configuration. A tube (10445930) including a 1x projections lens is now attached to the phototube (type 10450301, 10450302 or analogue), and from there a longer photo tube camera adapter (10446175) including a 2.5x relay lens goes to the camera. Final enlargement at the film/sensor is 2.5x.